The Sidney Prize and the National Association of Scholars

Sydney Prize is an international award designed to recognize individuals’ hard work and commitment, while also carrying significant monetary value. Winners can use their prize winnings to further their careers or help support their families; additionally they may use it to promote their work and inspire others.

Winners are selected on a national level by a Judging Committee, taking into account both past achievements as well as any future potential for continuing contributions through performing arts in Australia society. These Awards celebrate the essential role that arts play in shaping Australian identity as well as building community spirit that unifies us all.

Winners are honored at an annual ceremony held in Sydney, Australia. Each year, this prize honors an artist or artistic form who best exemplifies how culture and artistic expression contribute to society – named in tribute to philanthropist Sidney Myer.

Every year, The Prize is given to an exceptional figure from Australia’s performing arts community who has made outstanding contributions towards its development and advancement through their commitment to building an exceptional performing arts sector. Funded by the City of Sydney, it is Australia’s most prestigious performing arts award decided upon by a Judging Committee and considered among its most prestigious.

Nazanin Boniadi became the inaugural recipient of the Sydney Peace Prize for her commitment to furthering women’s rights in Iran, marking an important step towards turning outrage into action. Sponsored by the City of Sydney and used for funding purposes of human rights organisations in Sydney.

At its annual conference, the National Association of Scholars presents the Sydney Prize to an individual who has contributed significantly to academic freedom and integrity of scholarship. It honors Sidney E. Iwanter from Madison who was an enthusiastic champion for intellectual curiosity and passing knowledge from generation to generation – his curiosity led him to secretly record lectures from one professor he enjoyed listening to; later that same year, in 2004 he donated these “bootlegs” of those lectures back to UW-Madison as part of an award.

Each year, the Sydney Prize honors an influential voice that promotes peace with justice and the dignity of all human beings, such as Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mary Robinson, Patrisse Cullors & Opal Tometi from Black Lives Matter as well as Joseph Stiglitz – to name but a few.